All Pitt Humanities Committee

The All Pitt Humanities committee consists of representatives from every school-level unit at the University of Pittsburgh. It was established in September 2016 to continue the momentum of the Year of the Humanities, and to support humanities-related efforts across the University. In 2017, the committee established the Pitt Interdisciplinary Humanities Grants to support cross-unit or public-facing events and programs in the humanities. (Click here for more information on the grants, and here for information on 2017 awardees.) The committee also supports a working group on cultural competence that has been meeting throughout 2017 to discuss this important intersection of the humanities and health sciences. For more information on the committee, write Dan Kubis at


Jonathan Arac

Andrew W. Mellon Professor of English

Director of the Humanities Center

Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences



Professor and Chair, Department of English 

Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences


Associate Professor of English

Department of English 

University of Pittsburgh Greensburg 


Associate Professor of Engineering

Director of the Engineering Education Research Center

Swanson School of Engingeering


John Camillus

Donald R. Beall Endowed Chair in Strategic Management

Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business



Vivian Curran

Distinguished Faculty Scholar and Professor of Law

School of Law




Amanda Godley

Professor, English Education and Language, Literacy and Culture

School of Education



Joshua Groffman 

Assistant Professor of Music 

Division of Communication and the Arts

University of Pittsburgh Bradford 



Randall Halle

Klaus W. Jonas Professor of German Film and Cultural Studies, German Department

Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences



Vicki Hornyak 

Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy 

School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences 




Kate Joranson 

Director, Frick Fine Arts Library 

University Library System 




Joseph Kannarkat

Undergraduate Student, Major: Neuroscience and Mathematics-Economics

Student Government Board 




Meredith Kenyon 

Assistant Professor of English 

University of Pittsburgh Titusville 




Arthur Kosowsky

Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Associate Director, Pittsburgh Particle Physics, Astrophysics, and Cosmology Center (Pitt-PACC)    

Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences


Dan Kubis 

Research Assistant Professor of English

Assistant Director of the Humanities Center 

Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences



Jennifer Lingler 

Associate Professor of Health and Community Sysyems

School of Nursing 




Kristen Majocha 

Associate Professor of Communication 

University of Pittsburgh Johnstown 




Maggie McDonald

Associate Professor of Epidemiology 

Graduate School of Public Health 




Scott Morgenstern

Associate Professor of Political Science

Director, Pitt Center of Latin American Studies

Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences 



Jennifer Murtazashvili 

Assistant Professor in the Graduate School of Public and International Affairs

Graduate School of Public and International Affairs



Nedah Nemati  

Graduate Student

Dietrich School--History and Philosophy of Science




Mary Ohmer

Associate Professor in the School of Social Work 

School of Social Work 




Lisa Parker 

Associate Professor of Human Genetics

Director, Center for Bioethics and Health Law

Graduate School of Public Health 



Sarah Popovich

Program Manager, Office of Cross Cultural and Leadership Development

Student Affairs 



Joanne Prasad

Assistant Professor of Dental Medicine 

School of Dental Medicine 




Terry Smith

Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Contemporary Art History and Theory, Department of the History of Art and Architecture

Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences 



 Alberta Sbragia

Professor of Political Science, Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences

Vice Provost for Graduate Studies